Board of Trustees


Shawnee State University is governed by a board of nine trustees and two non-voting student members, appointed by the Governor of Ohio with the advice and consent of the Senate. The president of the university also serves as an ex-officio (non-voting) member of the Board. The trustees are responsible for oversight of academic programs, budgets, general administration, and employment of faculty and staff.

The board shall do all things necessary for the creation, proper maintenance, and successful and continuous operation of the university and may adopt and amend bylaws and rules for the conduct of the board and the government and conduct of the university. The board may accept donations of lands and moneys for the purposes of such university. See Ohio Revised Code 3362.03. 

Board Meetings are held on Fridays every two months in the Selby Board Room in Clark Memorial Library unless otherwise noted and are subject to change. See the Trustees Meetings link for exact dates and times. Some meetings may be held at other locations and will be announced as determined. 

Board of Trustees

Contact Information

Pamela Otworth, Executive Assistant
(740) 351-3208

Shawnee State University
Office of the President
940 Second Street
Portsmouth, OH 45662

Page maintained by Marketing and Communications.